Indianapolis Indian Community -
| | | | | | | | | | | |


Odisha: Congress releases candidates list for 2 Lok Sabha, 13 Assembly seats

Author : IANS

Politics, National Read Latest News and Articles

Share With Your Friends

Add an Article

View All Contributions

Add To My Favorite

Add A Picture

Bhubaneswar, April 20 (IANS) The Congress on Saturday released a fresh list of candidates for two Lok Sabha seats and 13 Assembly constituencies of Odisha. The party has replaced candidates in one Lok Sabha and three Assembly constituencies for which nominees had been announced earlier.

The Congress has replaced Mohan Hembram with Binod Bihari Nayak at the Keonjhar Lok Sabha seat.

Similarly, the party has fielded Sarat Kumar Pradhan in place of Manoj Kumar Acharya on Kantamal Assembly segment under Kandhamal Parliamentary constituency. Sanjay Kumar Mandal has replaced Bipin Bihari Swain at Kabisuryanagar Vidhan Sabha seat under Aska Parliamentary constituency.

The party also nominated Krushna Sagaria for Jayadev assembly segment under Bhubaneswar Lok Sabha seat in place of Jayant Kumar Bhoi.

Congress has fielded Dulal Chandra Pradhan on the high profile Sambalpur Lok Sabha constituency where Union Minister Dharmendra Pradhan from Bharatiya Janata Party and the Biju Janata Dal heavyweight Pranab Prakash Das have already hit the campaign trail. Debokanta Sharma has been fielded by the Congress from Aska Lok Sabha constituency.

In another major development, the party has fielded Shidharth Routray, the elder son of expelled senior leader Suresh Kumar Routray, on Nimapara Assembly segment in Puri Lok Sabha constituency.

Congress also fielded former BJD MLA Sipra Mallick who joined the party on April 18 from Kendrapara assembly constituency.

Meanwhile, Amita Biswal, Manoj Kumar Pradhan and Gyan Ranjan Patnaik have been nominated from Jharsuguda, Khandapada and Pipili Assembly constituencies, respectively.

The party has so far declared the names of candidates on 136 out of 147 Assembly constituencies and 19 of the 21 Lok Sabha constituencies.

The party also left two Assembly seats in Sundargarh district, Biramitrapur and Bonai constituencies, to the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and CPI-M, respectively.



Copyright and Disclaimer: All news and images appearing in our news section, search engines and social media are provided by IANS. If you face any issues related to the content/images, please contact our news service provider directly. We are not liable/responsible for any content/images related to the news service provider.

Latest News

View More News

More News Articles

T20 World Cup: Feel Pakistan should make the final; conditions will suit them, says Shahid Afridi

IPL 2024: My father and Yuvraj will be happy with my bowling performance, says SRH's Abhishek Sharma

IPL 2024: My father and Yuvraj will be happy with my bowling performance, says SRH's Abhishek Sharma

Why ex-NSD director Anuradha Kapur says actors are not abandoning theatre for films

After archiving wedding pics with Deepika, Ranveer celebrates beauty of his 'sunshine'